Rhubarb Cake

File:Blattstiele des Rhabarber.JPG

Two weeks ago I started my summer job working at a grain elevator. So far my time has been spent in training and preparing for wheat harvest in the Columbia Basin. Although Eastern Washington is described as a desert wasteland, those who live here know how it prospers through agriculture. Because wheat harvest won’t start till about mid-July, I often find myself looking for things to do around the office. Also, because I’m ‘the new girl’ I wanted to find a way to make myself comfortable in the new space. My dad, who let’s be honest got me the job, mentioned to the guys that I had made a delicious rhubarb cake and that I should make another. At first I shook his suggestion off thinking it would be inappropriate, but then I realized the men who work with my dad aren’t much different from him. They too are fathers to daughters, even if they are grown, and they too have a sweet spot for food. I figured this is my in, and the next morning I woke up earlier than normal to pack my cooking utensils and pre-measured ingredients. The cake turned out beautifully, especially topped with vanilla ice cream, and the guys haven’t stopped talking about it a week later.

So I thought I share both my story and the recipe I used. First of all I’d like to get it out there that I’m not particularly a fan of rhubarb and I enjoy this cake. Secondly, I would advise all of you food and cooking fanatics to download the app called Foodily. The site is gorgeous and updates with new recipes daily which you can customize according to your preferences.  I found this recipe on Foodily which is linked to a wonderful food and cooking blog titled not without salt where you can find the original post for this recipe (or you can keep reading and find it below) along with other interesting recipes.

Let’s get on with it; the wait is over.

Rhubarb Cake

2 cups chopped (rough 1/2″) rhubarb
1/2 cup (not packed) brown sugar
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, soft
1 cup (not packed) brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup plain yogurt (I used greek vanilla and it turned out fine)
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda

Butter and flour a 8 or 9″ (2″ high) round cake pan.

Pre-heat your oven to 350*

In a small bowl add the rhubarb and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Let it sit for 30 minutes.

In a large bowl cream the butter and 1 cup brown sugar until light. Then mix in the egg and vanilla. Add the rhubarb mixture and yogurt. Stir well. In another bowl whisk together the dry ingredients then add it to the rest of the ingredients stirring well to combine.

Spread in your prepared pan and bake for 50- 60 minutes or until the middle of the cake springs back when lightly pressed.

I hope you enjoy!! And if you are a rhubarb nay-sayer, like I was, I hope this may change your mind.

6 thoughts on “Rhubarb Cake

  1. My mom used to cook down rhubarb with sugar and we used it over vanilla ice cream. It was delicious on a hot summer day!

  2. Pingback: Canning Craze–Rosemary Jelly | Obscure Meandre

  3. Pingback: Easy Independence Day Dessert | oldsouljess

  4. Pingback: Easy Independence Day Dessert | oldsouljess

  5. Pingback: Easy Independence Day Dessert | Obscure Meandre

Leave a Reply

